A birthday is Always Better with Rainbow Cupcakes

rainbow1

 

For the last three years I’ve made rainbow cupcakes for my friend Susie’s birthday. This year I made my cloud frosting and used sour rainbow striped candy to make it even more rainbow-y… if that’s even a word Winking smile

I used my now standard cupcake recipe for when I used box mixes – which is basically adding four eggs instead of three, milk instead of water and using melted butter instead oil, and doubling the amount.  I then used the Betty Crocker Neon Color gels and they were fantastic!!

rainbow2

I made up some cloud frosting and took out the core of the cupcake. I filled the center with the frosting, and then tried to frost them like they were clouds. My youngest then helped me out with the rainbow candy – in the usual toddler way… ie. one for Mummy, three for her Winking smile

These were very well received! They made my friend happy which was the goal. I ended up having to load the cupcake cores in front of the half cupcake pictured above and covering it up with more frosting for another friend. Popular Winking smile

rainbow

 

Leave a Reply

