Pink Valentine’s M&M Heart Shaped Sandwich Cookies

valentinecookies4

About a week ago I posted about pink chocolate chip cookies – they were tasty and very well received by the the children in DD#2’s 1st grade class. Anyways, she came home on Monday and said that she had a Valentine’s party on Thursday (today) and said she really wanted the cookies for the party.

Now, I don’t like repeating myself for school snacks, so this time I decided that I wanted to make them heart shaped. Fortunately for me, I found the box of Valentine’s cookie cutters I had brought at Goodwill and it was perfect!

I used the same recipe as the cookies earlier this month, only this time I divided the recipe between two cookie sheets with sides. I baked them in the oven for about 20 minutes – watching to make sure I pulled them out as soon as the center had set and was only lightly brown.

valentinesheart1

While the cookies were still hot, I used the cookie cutters to cut the heart shapes out. I then left them in the cookie pans to cool down a little and transferred them a cookie rack to finish off cooling.

valentineshearts2

After they had cooled off, I mixed up some quick vanilla buttercream to frost in the middle.

valentinescookies3

Vanilla Buttercream

3/4 cup of room temperature butter (three sticks of butter)

1 lb. or 4 cups of Confectioner’s sugar

2 tsps. Vanilla

1 to 2 Tbsp. of milk

  1. Cream the butter and sugar together, it will look kind of crumbly, but keep going.
  2. Add the vanilla and mix until incorporated.
  3. Add 1 tablespoon of milk and mix well. If it still looks too thick, add the rest of the milk in 1/2 tablespoon increments. Once it’s to your desired thickness and the milk it completely incorporated, whip it all together for 3 minutes, or until it is all fluffy and use as desired!

These were so cute! And of course the Mummy brownie points I earned for these weren’t so bag either!! Happy Valentine’s Day!!

Leave a Reply

