Ham and Goat Cheese Quinoa Cups

quinoa2

 

I came into a box of quinoa (keen-wa) the other day, and I have to admit, I was a little nervous about using it. I understand it’s a “superfood”, but I have no experience with it and whilst I am not a new food coward, it still made me nervous. I fell back on ol’ faithful – Pinterest. Boy! Is this a versatile food! I saw everything from pancakes to quinoa and cheese to cookies and cupcakes.

I decided that I would try out something inspired by Mini Ham and Cheese Quinoa Cups. I used small pieces of chunked ham, finely chopped zucchini, cheddar cheese, parmesan cheese and crumbled goat cheese.

These were fantastic! Even my toddlers (well, my almost 2 year old and my 4 year old) loved them, and my 10 year old has insisted on taking them to school for the last two days for school. Of course, I didn’t tell any of them that it wasn’t rice. Lol!

Since making these, I’ve used them to make breakfast cereal for DD#5 and tonight I used them in conjunction with rice in a chicken and rice casserole. The kids scarfed that up and I felt awesome because they got an hidden protein boost.  I will try to keep adding this to all kinds of things – anyway to get extra goodness into my girls!!

Leave a Reply

