Lalaloopsy Cake – Cloud frosting

I love making frosting… butter cream, and cream cheese being two favorites. However, a couple of months ago I discovered Cloud frosting – also known as marshmallow frosting. I used it here: Snickerdoodle Cupcakes and fell in love with it! When I was planning DD#4’s birthday, I wanted to be able to make the cake edible for my husband, who is very sensitive sugar (diabetic and not a sweets fan). I decided that the cloud frosting was the way to go, and it had NOTHING to do with the fact that I could eat the entire batch with a spoon. I swear… *cough*

marshmellow1

I’ve heard this frosting being referred to as Martha Stewart’s 7 minute frosting, I’ve heard it called cloud frosting and marshmallow frosting… whatever you call it, it’s beyond NOM! I always use this recipe: Always With Butter: Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cloud Frosting is it makes more than enough for three small cakes, or two larger 12″+ cakes with enough to eat at the end if you are so inclined 😉 Salmonella notwithstanding!

The above pic is when I had the first 5 ingredients in the bowl over a gently simmering pot. I won’t say that I constantly stir it, but I whip it up pretty good every 30 second or so – I have yet to burn this, and I am hoping to keep it that way 😉 As soon as I had figured out the sugar incorporated into egg whites, I poured it all into my kitchenaid bowl.

marshmellow2

I then spent the next 10 minutes beating the bejeebers out of it. Stopping occasionally to see if I had reached the stiff peak stage or not.

marshmellow3

When I finally reached that point, I added the final ingredient – vanilla and added it along with a large squirt of red food gel dye. I use the Duff Goldman kind if you are curious! Then whipped it some more. And VOILA! Nommy cloudy marshmallow frosting that very nearly outgrew my Kitchenaid bowl. LOL!

One thought on “Lalaloopsy Cake – Cloud frosting

  1. Pingback: Lalaloopsy Polka Dot Cake | Without Pinterest... I'd die of boredom or starve

Leave a Reply

