Walnut Chocolate Apple Breakfast Buns

IMAG1422

There is nothing like warm, gooey cinnamon buns for breakfast… I was looking forward to them too… Until I discovered that we didn’t have any cinnamon. None. Nada. I discovered we didn’t have any only after I’d made the dough and covered it in butter.*sigh* I asked my hubby to get me some, but then I realized that my girls would eat me before he got back or I’d have to leave for my dental check up before I could properly rise and then bake these.

So I sat down. And I thought. And I thought some more. Then I decided to experiment… I could always throw it out and give the kids cereal if push came to shove.

I should start at the beginning!!! The dough! I made the dough using the Miracle Bread recipe. I won’t write the recipe for that out here, but lets just say I don’t believe in secret recipes and if you are wanting a copy of it – drop me a line!!

sticky1

I then coated the softened, unsalted butter (about 1/2 a stick) with light brown sugar, semi sweet chocolate chips, gala apple pieces and some chopped walnuts I found in the back of the cupboard whilst looking for the sliced almonds. Then I set the oven on to pre-heat to 350.

IMAG1417

Then I rolled up the dough and cut it into thick slices. I placed it onto some parchment paper and let them rise for 25 minutes. Before shoving them in the oven for about 18 minutes. My oven is convection, so you might need more time if you have a conventional oven.

IMAG1418

NOM!!  I was almost tempted to not frost them…. But these are sticky buns, and I obviously didn’t have enough of the gooey yet 😉

IMAG1422

I used this recipe: The Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing It’s my go to and it’s divine.  Takes to other flavours too… I really love orange zest and a little juice to it.

To say these where inhaled, would be an understatement. DD#5 loved them so much, she attempted to sneak down from her highchair, hiding her left overs under her dress. LOL. Hope you try these one morning. And really, using the miracle bread recipe for the dough, you can have yummy baked goodness in about 45 minutes. Really, really!

 

Leave a Reply

