Nothing Sweeter….

nightie

Than a cute little person wearing a nightgown. I swear. Especially this little person. See? I am sure you agree! Right? Right!

I’ve had this fabric for a while, and wasn’t sure what to do with it. I have next to no experience with sewing knits. Do you know what I learnt? I need to learn more about sewing knits. Oh the frustrations and anger I held towards my sewing machine and my seeming lack of sewing ability.

I got the pattern here: Sew Chibi: Sweet Dreams. A Toddler Nightgown and decided, since I was going to be out of action for a couple of days due to some fairly extreme oral surgery just after Christmas, that this would be the perfect time to try out this pattern.

Everything went okay… until I messed up a sleeve and didn’t see the fabric get caught up and well… my needle broke. Oh the misery!! And then… I couldn’t find any replacements – which honestly caught me by surprise, since I know I have them… I just didn’t put them away in the right place – which frankly, didn’t surprise me.

Finally I got replacements today – along with some buttons and yarn for yet another project and managed to complete the nightgown.

nightie4

I might be biased… but she is so adorable!! Anyways, I made the nightgown knee length – out of necessity because DD#5 hates things that twist around her ankles. I did a simple zig zag around the bottom to prevent fraying, and it gave it a kind of ruffled effect. The neck line is a square, peasant style, as the pattern dictated. You can see on the left where I messed up the cuff on the sleeve, but I am going to pretend that it worked out as well as the right one did. So… you will too right?! 😉

nightie3

See… perfect wrist cuffs. *coughcough*

So far I’ve had no complaints about this – usually my 19 month old will let me know if something is not up to her very exacting standards. I am going to grab some flannel next time I am near a fabric store and make some more…. they are just so cute!

2 thoughts on “Nothing Sweeter….

Leave a Reply

