Celebrating Independence Day

In honor of Independence Day, I decided to try out a few recipes to celebrate. First up, a red, white and blue cupcake with marshmallow frosting. I made a simple white cake batter and dyed two parts of it red and blue with the gel food colorings. The recipe I used produced a really thick, moist cake, which is what I like. The marshmallow frosting is my go-to frosting. I LOVE how it tastes and the fact that it isn’t sweet or overwhelming in any way. I tried to take an artsy photo with a sparkler in the top, but it burnt down too quickly and sprayed black ash all over. *sigh*

Originating links: Simple White Cake and Marshmallow Frosting

Next up Red, White and Blue Potato Salad

This was nom! I got some blue and red potatoes on sale (buy one, get one FTW!) and added some of the white potatoes I usually have. I cooked them until they were fork tender – but only just. I don’t like mushy potato salad… gives me the heebiejeebies.Β  Whilst I was waiting for the potatoes to cool, I roughly chopped up two celery stalks, approximately four hard boiled eggs (left overs from the devilled eggs I mention below), a hefty shake of celery seed and garlic powder, probably close to 1.5 tablespoons of dijon mustard, a splash of milk – maybe 1/4 cup, but I am thinking a little less, half a cup of roughly chopped vidalia onion and half a cup of roughly chopped celery. I also used half a cup of of hellman’s mayo. The entire lot got mixed together and then chilled in the fridge for two or so hours. It was delicious! πŸ™‚

I am kicking myself, because I didn’t take any pictures, but it’s been splashed all over Pinterest, mostly because this is cook out season, but I really wanted to recommend baking your corn, in the husk, in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Works a treat! Perfectly cooked corn and the husk and hairs just slide off. Microwaving them for 4 to 5 minutes works great too! Take advantage of seasonal foods I say!

Finally, my Celebration Deviled Eggs… I need to think of a better title for it πŸ˜‰

I have the great fortune to be able to get farm fresh eggs when ever I need them. I took advantage of that this week! It was an added bonus that I got to use a trick I learned at Easter too – how to dye the whites of the eggs. Yay!

In a nutshell, I followed a pinner’s advice on how to cook the perfect boiled egg, but still I think only half of them peeled easily out of the shell. Which was okay because I needed some of the eggs for the potato salad. After I got the yolks out, I quickly mixed up some red and food dye in two bowls of water. Personally, I like the gel dyes, so I had to use a small wire whisk to mix it all into the water. I then separated the eggs into groups and dumped 1/3 into the blue dye and another 1/3 into the red and left them in there for probably close to an hour. The less time they spend in the dyed water, the paler the colouring to the whites are. I wasn’t looking for pastels this time.

The yolk mix was our usual. 1/2 a cup of hellman’s mayonnaise, a dash of fresh ground pepper, the egg yolks, about a tablespoon of dijon mustard and probably 1/2 a tsp of Jamaican Jerk Seasoning. Mix it all together and then pipe into the egg whites. I used my pampered chef frosting tool – it works wonders πŸ˜€ So as you can see, these, and with the addition of some grilled hotdogs and shrimp, made for a fun and tasty Independence Day celebration. Happy July 4th!!

Originating link: Easter Deviled Eggs

One thought on “Celebrating Independence Day

Leave a Reply

