Owl Cupcake Cake


The first step in making this awesome cake was colouring the coconut. Despite the directions, I used unsweetened, shredded coconut. I find the flaked, sweet stuff to be… well awful. Far too sweet!

The colours were actually light purple and green… stupid camera couldn’t get the colours right no matter how many times I moved the bags to get better light. It is a simple process: Put the required amount of coconut in the bag, add one teaspoon of water and the food colouring you are wanting to use and then shake/massage the bag until you get the colour you like!

Surprise! These are going to be Oreo Truffle centered Vanilla Cupcakes. I mixed up the truffles in the food processor to grind up the cookies (filling and all!). Then I added one 8oz packet of cream cheese. Then rolled it into 24 balls and stuck them in the freezer.

I mixed the Betty Crocker Vanilla cake mix together with 2 duck eggs – I didn’t use three eggs as the instructions said. Duck eggs are significantly larger, so I felt it was the best bet to just decrease it by one egg. I love how fluffy duck eggs make baked eggs!

The next step was to pour approximately two tablespoons of the batter in the bottom of the cupcake pan.

Then get the truffles out of the freezer and pop on in each slightly filled cupcake pan.

Then cover up the truffles with the remaining cake mix. Don’t fill the cups up too far, but make sure the truffles are well and truly covered by the mix.

Please excuse the crappy indoor photos! My house really has bad lighting! Then frost four cupcakes white, making sure to dip the edges of two in the sprinkles. I used gold colour sprinkless… I thought they were nicer than the chocolate ones!!

Spread the frosting all over the cupcakes, all except the two eye cakes. I decided to keep the texture as it was – it gave it a nice look in my opinion. Next came the fun part! Decorating! I used the recommended Famous Chocolate Wafers for the wings, but used two oreos for the eyes instead. I used peach rings for the eyes and Junior Mints for eyes. I covered the chest with undyed coconut  and a sprinkling of mini chocolate chips.


The owlets were done quickly, with M&M’s being used for the eyes instead of Junior Mints. The circus peanuts were cut and shaped  into beaks and feet and lastly the pretzel rod  for branches. Voila! Done! I was really happy with the way it turned out!

Originating Links: Oreo Truffle Stuffed Cupcakes and Cupcake Cakes: Night Owls

2 thoughts on “Owl Cupcake Cake

Leave a Reply

