First Birthday Outfit

I can’t believe that my little itty bitty is turning 1 in just 10 days. Since I am wanting to make it an awesome day for the both of us (we are having a combined party, since I turn even older on May 23rd). And carrying on the owl theme, I crocheted a small owl for her onsie and made her a rainbow tutu to dress up in.

I brought the pattern for this applique owl on Ravelry. If you are interested, please click the link: Applique Crochet Owl pattern I used embroidery thread to make this and an size 5 crochet hook. I then used stitch witchery to bond it to the onesie and sewed around the edges to make sure it would stay on completely.

The tutu was a little more problematic. DD#5 is a tiny little person (just making 17.5lbs at last Drs appointment). I measured her waist for the elastic, and no matter what I did, it would fall down. I searched pinterest for a different idea and stumbled upon the one that finally worked for me! No Sew TuTu It’s just an image *grrrrrs* But it’s very simple.

Cut a length of ribbon – I chose to use the same ribbon I’d used on Scrapbook Paper Owl Garland. I then measured out the tulle to 22 inches in the rainbow colours I was using. Then it was simply tying it all on. It took approximately 20 minutes, because DD#5 is so small, and it looked fantastic. It had the added bonus of my being able to tighten it appropriately. Awesomness! And now… Picture spam of my Little Miss in her birthday finery!

One thought on “First Birthday Outfit

Leave a Reply

