Pinata Cookies

I have to admit… when I saw these on pinterest a couple of weeks ago… I thought they were neat… but a little too involved for me. As a family we don’t celebrate Cinco De Mayo… not being Mexican and all, but these, ultimately, were too cute to resist! I lucked out (I thought) and found a burro cookie cutter at Michaels. Yes… I didn’t check sizes before I left the store… so I ended up with a HUGE cutter. Anyways… I digress.

The original link that I had didn’t have a mention of the actual sugar cookie recipe the creator used. So, I used my go to sugar cookie recipe, which comes straight off the Publix Granulated Sugar container:

PUBLIX SUGAR COOKIE DOUGH

2 cups self rising flour
1 cup sugar
1 stick butter, room temp
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine sugar and butter.

Add egg and vanilla, mix well.

Add flour, mix well.

I doubled it!! In hind sight… I should have quadrupled it. Unlike some comments I saw on Pinterest over the last couple of days, I did not find this dough to be soggy, or greasy. It’s why I love this dough so much!Then it was time to dye the dough.My hubby and I used our Wilton dyes, and in all honesty, I think we may have been over zealous with the colouring as you can see by my purple dyed fingers 😛 We chose black (for the hooves), red, yellow, green, blue and purple.

We then split each dough ball in half and flattened it out and put it into our prepared container. I then put it into the freezer over night and went on with my day.

When I pulled the dough from the freezer is when we realised our mistake. One slice of the cookie dough would only yield half (maybe) a pinata burro. What to do?! We fixed the issue by cutting the black off two additional pieces. We laid them up against each other on the thought that as they cooked, they would weld together into a seamless giant cookie. We were right!!

As soon as the cookies were done in the oven (350 degrees for 12 minutes), we pulled them out of the oven and cut the shapes. Hubby read online that for the last cookie, we should turn the cookie cutter over, so we would end up with both the side cookies looking pretty ;).

We tidied up the edges of the cookies and cut the ears, legs and the center out of the middle cookie.

We chose to use mini M&M’s as our pinata treat! 🙂

Completed!! We managed to make a grand total of TWO (2) complete cookies! LOL! Next time we make these, we will use a smaller cookie cutter and maybe roll out the dough, rather than squishing it out with our hands.

I took this one so you could see how the three different cookies came together… I think it’s kind of sad… the one on the right seems to be sad about it’s friend falling down.

These were a lot of fun to make… the kids loved them. Happy Cinco De Mayo!

Originating Link: Pinata Cookies Tutorial

Leave a Reply

