Homemade Chicken Nuggets

My girl’s decided that they wanted chicken nuggets for lunch on Friday and I was half way tempted to drive to the Golden Arches or CFA… but since I’d been out all morning and it was a fair hoof to either. So, since I had just been grocery shopping, and in all honesty, I prefer to make things from scratch, they taste better and are better for you – sometimes 😉

I looked on pinterest and saw recipes for CFA like nuggets, but I also remembered something I saw on TV – Bitchin’ Kitchen if you are curious. Buttermilk helps break down the chicken and makes it more tender. Soooooo, I cut my fresh chicken breasts into bite sized peices and added them to a large bowl, with a healthy pinch of salt, some cracked pepper, and enough buttermilk to cover it. I then let it sit in the fridge for approximately 2 hours.

Into a ziplock bag, I placed 2 cups of all purpose flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper and 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar. What?! I read it on several recipes and decided why the heck not… If I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t do it again. Anyways… after I finished marinating the chicken I dropped the pieces into the bag (about 10 peices at a time). Whilst I was doing this, I was slowly heating up canola oil in a large pot. I was obsessive about checking it, because well… I think this is the first time I’ve deep fried something in at least 8 years.

In retrospect, I probably should have used more oils, but for today, this was enough… barely. I watched and tested the oil so it wouldn’t get too hot. A tip I got said that the oil, when spritzed with a little, and I mean little bit of water, kind of hissed and the popping was kept to a minimum. I used a wire scooper to stir and turn them and I believe they cooked for about 6 – 8 minutes per batch.  It’s only an approximate, because I was watching for colouring in the flour coating rather than watching the time.

When they were done, I fed them to my now completely starved (ha ha!) masses. Served with a simple romaine side salad and some apple slices that didn’t get photographed. They were tasty, but needed a bit more spicing up. I think I may add Old Bay seasonings next time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

