Tomato Caprese Grilled Cheese Sandwich

I learned the other day that April is national grilled cheese month, so I trolled through pinterest looking for an interesting idea to make for lunch today. When I saw this one, I knew it was it. Caprese salad is one of my all time favourite things in this world, so in a grilled cheese sandwich, it would just be sublime! Going into this, I had never made basil pesto before – or any kind of pesto for that matter. So that was first on my to do list.

I have a new addiction. Pine nuts. They are tasty little boogers. Will definitely be using them more frequently!

Making the pesto… next time, since it’s such a small amount I’ll use the bullet food processor. It was tasty, but since there was such a small amount, it didn’t get as fine as I wanted it!!

Usually I make my own bread, but since I have been run off my feet for the last two weeks it seems, I brought some white mountain bread from Publix. I brushed olive on the outside of the bread and covered the inside of both pieces of bread with my yummy pesto!

Next up was layering with the fresh mozzarella, tomato and a little salt and pepper.

And then I completely failed to take a picture of cooking it. I followed the original posters suggestion of keeping the temperature a little lower and placed a small plate over it. This helped given even browning and helped melt the cheese. How to make the perfect grilled cheese

This sandwich was… amazing. Simply amazing. I’ll definitely be making it again and frequently. I was perfect for a Saturday afternoon lunch. Yummo!!

Originating Link: Caprese Grilled Cheese Sandwich

2 thoughts on “Tomato Caprese Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. this looks absolutely PERFECT. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Caprese salads, and my best friend is obsessed with them. Making one into a grilled cheese sandwich is absolutely brilliant! I will definitely be doing this in the near future šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

