Dyed Devilled Eggs

I tried these for something a little different for our traditional devilled eggs. The affect was fantastic.

I used regular food dye that I brought at Target and mixed up red, green, purple and blue. It was really cool to watch it diffuse through the water, the girls sure got a kick out of it!

Lol… I like the neon affect the flash gave this picture 😉 The online instructions said that you had to let the egg soak for an hour, but also to let them soak until you reached your desired colour.

I ended up letting them sit in the dye for about 30 minutes. I wanted them to be a pale pastel shade! I also learned that I needed to move them around a bit more, so they get evenly dyed and not have white spots on the bottom.

 

These were easy to make and thouroughly enjoyed by our family. They’d be great for any occasion: parties, bbqs… whenever!!

Recipe to make the devilled eggs:

1 dozen eggs boiled your usual way

Halved and the whites put in the coloured water.

Smoosh the yolks with a fork until they are like tiny granules.

Add 4 tablespoons of mayo – I used Hellman’s.

1 teaspoon of whole grain mustard

Salt and pepper to taste. Mix well.

I then used a large ziplock bag with one of the corners cut off to get it in the dried off egg whites. Display as you choose and enjoy!
Originating link:  FOODjimoto: Easter Eggs

 

 

Leave a Reply

